Victory for Dogs in Ohio

Paws Up!
To Ohio legislators for passing HB 14 and to Governor John Kasich for signing a bill that repeals the 25-year-old state law that automatically declared pit bulls vicious.

Asia, a pit bull, lived at our shelter, Briggs Animal Adoption Center. She gently taught hundreds of children how to safely meet a new dog during education programs. We are happy to report that Asia has been adopted into a loving home.

According to a news story, “The governor … signed the bill that changes a law defining a vicious dog as one that has seriously hurt or killed a person, killed another dog or is among those commonly known as pit bulls. The new measure removes the reference to pit bulls from the definition and requires evidence to prove pit bulls are actually vicious.” In addition, the bill establishes new laws for treating dogs who are deemed dangerous or vicious because of their behavior and not because of their breed.

Breed bans do not work. They leave a community with a false sense of security. Remember, it is the family dog, regardless of breed, who is responsible for half of all dog bites. Educating all family members in proper canine training and care can reduce dog bites.

Instead of focusing tax dollars on banning one breed of dog, we should be focusing our attention and our dollars on dealing with irresponsible dog owners. Spending money on spay/neuter initiatives, canine owner education programs, registering dogs, and maintaining records of bite and aggressive dog incidences will greatly reduce the number of dog bites regardless of the breed doing the biting.

Take Action: Ohio residents, send a note of thanks to your governor and your legislators. Residents of other states, if you have breed ban legislation in your jurisdiction, contact your elected officials and explain why breed bans do not protect their citizens.

The Honorable John Kasich
Riffe Center, 30th Floor
77 South High Street
Columbus, OH 43215-6117
Tele. No.: 614-466-3555

Source:
Ohio.com

2 Responses to “Victory for Dogs in Ohio”

  1. Darren Dupuy Says:

    My girlfriend and I are the ones who adopted Asia. She is the sweetest, laid back dog.

    Before I met my girlfriend, I wasn’t a big fan of pit bulls. Now, that’s not to say I didn’t like dogs or the breed (I like dogs better than people), it was just unfortunate that a lot of these dogs are owned by morally challenged individuals. When I met my girlfriend, she owned Briggs, an Am-Staff who was very smart and very loving. She adopted this dog when he was very young and I moved in 10 years later. We had to put him down this past fall due to cancer. In the 2 years I lived with her, I grew to really love this dog. My girlfriend was on the fence about getting another dog, but eventually she came around and we adopted this sweet little girl. She is great. She will cuddle with you on the couch or the bed and meets me everyday I walk in the door from work with her tail just-a-wagging and will lick my face for the first few minutes I’m home.

    These dogs really are great dogs, they just need people around them who understand how dogs think. This goes for all dogs really, treat them with love and you will get love in return!

    • Brenda Says:

      This is my daughter and her boyfriend who adopted Asia
      I as a child was chased after by two large dogs and was bitten by one of them.I grew up with a terrible fear of all dogs especially big dogs.But for the past several years,being around my childrens dogs, 3 of them being pitbulls i have begun to out grow my fears.The 2 pitbulls now in our family are 2 of the sweetest dogs around,and it still amazes me that i can walk in and play with and hug on a pitbull !! Thanks Asia and Zoey for helping with my fears.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

